About us > The Berwyn Prize

The Berwyn Prize is awarded to the most promising candidate for Basic Membership, translation into English, if the required standard is achieved. It honours Berwyn Prys Jones, an inspiring leader in Welsh language translation, who was Chair of Cymdeithas Cyfieithwyr Cymru for over a quarter of a century.

The Berwyn Prize is a new prize awarded for the first time in 2017.

Winners of the Berwyn Prize


Sophie Smith, Swansea
City and County of Swansea Council*


Ioan Rhys Davies, Cardiff


Bethan Eleri Thomas, Aldershot
Freelance translator*

*Employer at time of winning the prize